Art co-operative Made in Ross launched their exhibition ahead of Herefordshire Art Week (September 1).

The jewel of the town centre, Ross Market Hall, demonstrated a plethora of talent with a showcase of some of the best Ross has to offer.

Where as Hay-on-Wye is seen across the country as “the book town” movers and shakers are setting Ross up to be “the art town”.

Everything from woodwork, to felting, painting, printing, weaving, and metalwork were all showcased in Made in Ross’s contribution to art week. Artists shared their methods and inspirations at the exclusive event, readying they works for the week ahead.

Visitors and residents of Ross tour exhibitions and galleries in Herefordshire sampling insights into the county’s culture.

Made in Ross is open seven days a week, all years round and has a constantly changing display of artists’ work.

The 20th Herefordshire Art week kicked off September 3 and is shaping up to be a treat for residents and visitors.

Whilst the art week takes place in many locations across Herefordshire, there are a substantial number of Ross artists and Ross venues opening up their doors and showcasing their work.

Made in Ross featured artists include: Julie Canon, water colour artist; Rosie Cannon, mosaics and mixed media artist; Chris Champness, knitting and jewellery; Sarah Freer, hand weaver; Steve Freer, ceramics; Eleanor Kercher, wood-craft; Jan Matthews, contemporary felt maker; Louise Pilditch, painter; Jackie Poulter, silver jewellery designer; Tara Slater, print maker; Nigel Street, water colour artist; Frances Warren, stone and glass artist; and Sue White, silk artist.

There are plenty of other venues around Ross opening their doors for art week, full details for all venues can be found on

St Mary’s in Ross is proud to showcase the work of local artists working in a variety of media in the splendid surroundings of Ross Parish Church in the centre of town. Artists include Simon Blundell, Sally Boehme, Lisa Dear, Mary Deaville, Caz Holbrook, Phil Powell, Fiona Reynolds, John Sherahilo, Karen Tacey, and Sharon Yorke.