THE constituency candidates for the Hereford and South Herefordshire have been confirmed by the Returning Officer for the General election being held on Thursday July 4.

The candidates are:

·         Nigel Ely – Reform UK;

·         Joe Emmett – Labour Party;

·         Jesse Norman – The Conservative Party;

·         Dan Powell – Liberal Democrats;

·         Diana Toynbee – The Green Party;

·         Mark Weadon – Independent.


To vote in the General Election, you must be registered to vote; be 18 years old or over on 4 July 2024;  be a  British, Irish or qualifying Commonwealth citizen or from Cyprus or Malta; be resident at an address in the UK or living abroad and registered as an overseas voter or posted abroad and registered as a service voter.

People without a fixed address can also be registered to vote via a declaration of local connection.

Forms and more information are available on the website Types of election, referendums, and who can vote.

If you are already registered to vote you do not need to re-register.  The deadline to register to vote for the General Election is midnight on Tuesday 18 June 2024.

Registering to vote is quick and easy online at you will need your national insurance number to hand.

Photographic identification is now required at all polling stations. Electors voting in person must bring an acceptable form of photographic ID to their polling station. Some of the most commonly used identification includes a passport, photo driver’s licence or over 60s travel passes.

If you have a form of acceptable photo identification but it is out of date, you can still use it to vote at a polling station if it still looks like you.

If you don't already have an accepted form of photo ID, or you're not sure whether your photo ID still looks like you, you can apply for a free Voter Authority Certificate. The deadline to apply is 5pm on Wednesday, June 26, 2024.