The two Herefordshire MPs took opposing positions in the pivotal vote on January 15th regarding the Brexit withdrawal deal.

The Prime Minister, Theresa May, suffered a landslide defeat by a record 230 votes, but survived the motion of no confidence on January 16th.

Bill Wiggin, MP for North Herefordshire, joined 117 other Conservative rebels to vote against Mrs May’s deal while Jesse Norman, MP for Hereford and South Herefordshire, was one of 196 Conservatives who voted in favour of the deal.

Two other local Conservative MPs also took different decisions, Forest of Dean MP Mark Harper voted against the deal while Monmouth MP David Davies voted in favour.