Radio Controlled cars take on Forest Raceway

By Ross Gazette sports reporter   |   Sport reporter   |
Wednesday 20th November 2019 10:24 am
[email protected]

Subscribe newsletter

Subscribe to our email and get updates right in your inbox.

Whilst the proper 1-1 sized rally cars were tearing through the Forest of Dean on November 9th, there was also motor racing on a smaller scale in the same region.

A total of 39 drivers traveled from all over the UK to compete at the Forest Raceway. The aptly nicknamed “Monaco of the West Country”, a permanent indoor Radio Controlled car racing venue, had fast paced racing all day on its high grip carpet layout.

Over 6000 laps were recorded by the racers, each competing in four rounds of five minute long qualifying sessions, with two finals to decide who went away with the all important trophies.

Results: 2wd MChassis: Andrew Wigzell, Mark Raddenbury, Jay Deakin.

LMP (13.5t Blinky): Chris Hughes, Liam West, Bill Hickman.

GT12: Jonny Baker (Schumacher RC), Mark Bruton-Young (Schumacher RC), Daniel Sparrow.

Mini Touring Car (FoD Rules): Andy Travis (Xpress Team UK), Jonny Baker (Schumacher RC), Mark Greenhill.

Mini Touring Car (National Rules): Matthew Heath (Carten UK), Clint Moody, Richard Ludlam (Xpress Team UK).

Frontie: David Allen, Andrew Wigzell, Mark Greenhill.

17.5t Touring Car: Stephen Davies, Mark Bruton-Young (Schumacher RC), Mark Raddenbury (Xpress Team UK).

The Forest of Dean club thanks all the sponsors for their help and generosity with time, prizes and the like. Special thanks to Positive Perception and KM Reprographics for their work on the trophy boards.

If you would like to know more about racing RC Cars in a safe and friendly environment, the club meets on a Tuesday evening from 6:30pm for On-Road racing, Thursdays from 6:30pm for Micro Off-road and has a pay and play practise session on Sundays from 11am till 3pm.

More information can be found on the club website, or Facebook.

More About:



To leave a comment you need to create an account. |

All comments 0